The Challenge of Appreciation

I have this recipient who calls me everyday, or at least most days of the week. Sometimes they cuss at me, other times they tell me about their various errands and plans for the day: going to this or that store. Often, they get mad at me for not calling them on a given day (even though I normally talk to most of my recipients only a few times a year).

Once, of hundreds of calls and (longish) conversations, and I remember this very clearly, this person thanked me: thanked me for returning their calls, talking with them, and supporting them in their wellness.

But, what I think was special about this call is that being appreciative can be difficult, and sometimes, it doesn’t come naturally: it can be hard to be vulnerable and to acknowledge what another means to someone, even if they mean a lot.

And, in a related way, I definitely learn many good lessons from my work, and I have tried to be more intentionally thankful myself, which has taken a lot of work.

“The Thankful Poor”

– Henry Tanner

Leave a comment