I Need A Beer

As I was driving home from a social work home visit, I noticed a man walking his bike, with a buggy attached to the back, someone possibly experiencing homelessness. A dog was happily walking alongside him. Proudly emblazoned on the front of his bike, on the outside of the handlebars was the sign “I NEED A BEER” in red, scrawled-out capital letters. There was no mention of solicitation. Just a statement about his current feeling about being in the world and needing a kind of respite from it: needing a beer. What a feeling we can all relate to, a universal statement on the nature of being in the world, dealing with its inevitable, daily, stressors, and needing a break. At the end of a long day or at the end of a long week: I NEED A BEER. My rendering of this image below.

Leave a comment